top of page
Meet the Chapter: TeamMember

Chapter History

The Evansville Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc, was chartered on April 22, 1978 by 13 college graduates, many of whom also chartered Kappa Nu City-Wide Chapter as college students. These women identified the need for an alumnae chapter so that their work of the sorority could continue in the Evansville community after college life.


Much like today, early work of the chapter included building homes for families under the Habitat for Humanity program, voter registration, hosting seminars on Women’s Health Issues, participating in breast cancer walk-a-thons and mentoring young girls. In the mid 1970’s a scholarship fund was established to assist students with educational expenses upon entering college. It is now named the Betty Craig Memorial Scholarship in honor of our departed soror.


Leadership in the chapter has been marked by strong women of the community with a vision to go forward, much like the 22 founding members of our sisterhood on January 13, 1913. Past local presidents include: Phyllis Brooks, Anna Outlaw, Bernice King, Felecia Jett, Benita Brickhouse, Clara Roberts, Stephanie Terry, Dr. Dionne Blue, Sabrina Stewart-Thomas and Lori Sutton.


Through the years, Evansville Alumnae has dedicated itself to the ideals set forth by the National office. We pray that this chapter will continue to grow and progress in the spirit of the Founders and charter members by giving of their time, talents and resources for the uplifting of our brothers and sisters in political and social action, matters of education, international affairs, health concerns and economic growth.


CHARTER MEMBERS: Aurore Atwater Johnson, Gloria Hall Baker, Christine Butler, Jean Hubbard Crowe, Debra Dulin, Clara Roberts*, Jeannie Hisbon-Lee, Rene Jones McCormick, Jacqueline LaGrone*, Shawndula Long*, Lulito Crow-Newsome, Anna Dow Outlaw and Stephanie Taylor* (*deceased).

A Message from our President

Sherrie headshot.jpg

Welcome to the official website of the Evansville Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.  I am honored to serve as President of this dynamic chapter of amazing, hardworking and dedicated women.  We are pleased that you have taken the time to review our site and hope that you become well acquainted with our chapter and the great service that we provide to our community.


Since 1978, the Evansville Alumnae has consistently made a positive impact in the Evansville Community. It is our charge to ensure we are providing effective, timely and relevant service in our community and we are looking forward to an amazing sorority year.  We are forging ahead in our steadfast commitment to public service and scholarship, guided by the principles and ideals set forth by our Charter Members.


The Evansville Alumnae Chapter continues to support our National Five Point Programmatic Thrust through our events that focus on:

  • Economic Development

  • Educational Development

  • International Awareness and Involvement

  • Physical and Mental Health

  • Political Awareness and Involvement


We want you to be informed so please visit us here, or follow us on social media.

If you are a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. and are new to the area or looking for a chapter to join, consider the Evansville Alumnae Chapter where we are committed to the community and to each other. I invite you to join us at a chapter meeting and/or event. Should you need any information, please contact me directly at


Thank you for visiting our website and we look forward to your continued support of the Evansville Alumnae Chapter!

Yours in Sisterhood & Service, 

Sherrie LaGrone

Executive Board 2021-2022

President: Sherrie LaGrone

           Vice President: Sabrina Stewart-Thomas      

Treasurer: Ena Winfield

Recording Secretary: Rhea Jones-Price  

Corresponding Secretary: Deiona Clayton

Financial Secretary: Lynn Rochon

Immediate Past President: Elexica McAlister

Committee Chairs:
Policies & Procedures: Stacie Duncan

 Social Action: Rhea Jones-Price

 Program Planning & Development: Toni Hamilton

Information & Technology: Stephanie Terry

 Scholarship: Melody McCoy

Delta G.E.M.S.: Vicki Rouse 

Internal Audit Chair: Leda Johnson

Membership Services: Sabrina Stewart-Thomas

ERT Coordinator: Mariama Wilson

bottom of page